 |
|
Nov 14th, 2008, 12:15 PM
|
#1 (permalink)
|
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 20, 2008 - 12:54 pm
Location: UK South East
Posts: 3,432
|
I have a question... I have heard that there is aplace in karachi where one can purchase GENUINE designer handbags at an unbelievably silly price.
Hand's up who knows if this is true??? I suspect fakes, but would be interested if anyone can vouch for the genuine article.
|
|
|
Nov 14th, 2008, 12:16 PM
|
#2 (permalink)
|
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 20, 2008 - 12:54 pm
Location: UK South East
Posts: 3,432
|
And also, how does one spot a fake? Can it be safely said if there r fraying threads, its fake?
|
|
|
Nov 14th, 2008, 12:55 PM
|
#3 (permalink)
|
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 14, 2004 - 6:40 am
Posts: 912
|
Various ways to spot a fake, although it's getting increasingly difficult nowadays. Best way to find out is to check the serial number is genuine (usually you can do it online - different sites for different brands)
Otherwise, stitching should be even, the lining should also be good quality as should the hardware. If it comes with a horrible looking nylon dustbag then that's also an indication that it's a fake.
The biggest clue is in the price though. If it's too good to be true then it usually is a fake. Even when you take currency conversions into account, manufacturers nowadays try to keep their prices adjusted to reflect the same value - which I found out recently when I tried to buy something from D&G on a trip to madrid. Better off buying it duty free in the airport especially during sales.
|
|
|
Nov 14th, 2008, 01:23 PM
|
#4 (permalink)
|
|
Member
Join Date: Sep 20, 2008 - 3:10 am
Location: USA
Posts: 464
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by RupayHalwa
I have a question... I have heard that there is aplace in karachi where one can purchase GENUINE designer handbags at an unbelievably silly price.
Hand's up who knows if this is true??? I suspect fakes, but would be interested if anyone can vouch for the genuine article.
|
You can get real designer handbags from Karachi (I got one at a shop from the Point Mall a few years back but it has since closed down) I have heard there are some stores in hotels etc however the prices are not that low. I got a bag that usually retails around $550 at the time here and I got it for $360 I recall, its genuine with the controlo card etc and I took it to Nieman Marcus here and the Gucci store and compared it to the real thing etc. But if it looks too good to be true it probably is, if someone is sellin you Chanal bags for $200 its a jip.
One reason why you can sometime get cheaper bags is that you can find bags that are several seasons old hence they are priced low by the orginal manufacturer but those bags are no longer available in the west.
|
|
|
Nov 14th, 2008, 05:24 PM
|
#5 (permalink)
|
|
Member
Join Date: Sep 30, 2008 - 4:49 pm
Location: usa !
Posts: 212
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by RupayHalwa
And also, how does one spot a fake? Can it be safely said if there r fraying threads, its fake?
|
yeee if it has fraying threads its fake...sldo luk out for scrathchess..fading of clolourr...etc
|
|
|
Nov 14th, 2008, 10:25 PM
|
#6 (permalink)
|
|
Moderator Wedding Forum
Join Date: Sep 10, 2008 - 10:48 pm
Location: Karachi, Pakistan
Posts: 3,245
|
This is Brands 4 Less at Zamzama where everything is almost 80% off.
* If you want Annika Rucci Evening Bags, check out this:
Annika Rucci Evening Bags in Pakistan | Facebook
Email: pakistan@annikarucci.com
I liked quite a few from their collection.
* I don't think that they have designer bags but I do love their stuff and they are right here in Karachi.
JADE
http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=18764872441
launched at Labels Store
Kh-e-Shamsheer, DHA Phase 5,
Karachi - Pakistan
Being happy doesn't mean everything's perfect, it means you've decided to look beyond to look beyond the imperfections!
Last edited by mahismart; Nov 14th, 2008 at 10:33 PM..
Reason: Correcting URL
|
|
|
Nov 15th, 2008, 03:48 AM
|
#7 (permalink)
|
|
Member
Join Date: Mar 13, 2006 - 2:46 am
Posts: 252
|
i heard noor's carries paris hilton and guess. and its all genuine.
|
|
|
Nov 15th, 2008, 03:50 AM
|
#8 (permalink)
|
|
Member
Join Date: Mar 13, 2006 - 2:46 am
Posts: 252
|
but i wouldnt risk buying gucci/ chanel from karachi
|
|
|
Nov 15th, 2008, 06:46 AM
|
#9 (permalink)
|
|
Moderator Wedding Forum
Join Date: Apr 10, 2006 - 7:07 pm
Posts: 6,075
|
For Coach bags, they should always have a leather tag in the front.. the fake ones have a metal one.
|
|
|
Nov 15th, 2008, 09:38 AM
|
#10 (permalink)
|
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 28, 2007 - 2:32 am
Location: Sydney
Posts: 4,507
|
I can so not relate to this intense obsess with designer bags
|
|
|
Nov 16th, 2008, 01:48 PM
|
#11 (permalink)
|
|
Member
Join Date: Aug 16, 2008 - 11:07 am
Posts: 424
|
they are fakes... good fakes they call them FIRST copies.. the shop is shopolic at a place called the 26th street.
|
|
|
Nov 16th, 2008, 02:32 PM
|
#12 (permalink)
|
|
Member
Join Date: Sep 20, 2008 - 3:10 am
Location: USA
Posts: 464
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by inta_habibi
but i wouldnt risk buying gucci/ chanel from karachi
|
My Gucci bag is totally legit. I had it checked by a Gucci store but I guess it is a risk. Chanel is higher end so might be an issue. Coach is not in the same league! I dont' even think Pakistanis know Coach. You can get Coach bags for $60 on Ebay.
One really easy way to spot a Gucci fake is if the controlo or a prcie tag is attached to the bag with a tag... Gucci has a controlo card with a unique # that is entered ito a system when you buy it. Sometimes stores will put a tag on it but a 'Gucci" tag should never be attached to the bag.
For Chanel the C's are usually wrong. for LV the logos or the motiffs should never be cutt off in the stiching and are evenly spaced. Also the inside is always linned and the leather will darken over time with use.
I guess I have a bit of an obsession with bags! You just carry them more than you can wear an expensive outfit, or even some heavy jewelry...
|
|
|
Nov 16th, 2008, 03:27 PM
|
#13 (permalink)
|
|
Member
Join Date: Jun 15, 2008 - 5:01 pm
Location: Toronto
Posts: 388
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by RupayHalwa
I have a question... I have heard that there is aplace in karachi where one can purchase GENUINE designer handbags at an unbelievably silly price.
Hand's up who knows if this is true??? I suspect fakes, but would be interested if anyone can vouch for the genuine article.
|
I'm not sure about Karachi. But My cousin recently sent me two burberry hand bags (my fav brand in bags) from lahore. I checked their price online on their website. One bag was listed as $790.00 and the other one was $950.00. I checked serial # and confirmed it was authentic. When I checked the prices I knew my cousin didnt pay that much. So, I asked and she told me how "stuff gets smuggled to pakistan." The store where she got the bags sells smuggled branded hand bags. She got each for around Rr 12,000 which is $200 canadian and is a lot cheaper compared to the original price.
|
|
|
Nov 16th, 2008, 03:41 PM
|
#14 (permalink)
|
|
Member
Join Date: Mar 21, 2007 - 8:53 am
Posts: 285
|
where is that store
|
|
|
Nov 16th, 2008, 04:15 PM
|
#15 (permalink)
|
|
Member
Join Date: Jun 15, 2008 - 5:01 pm
Location: Toronto
Posts: 388
|
I have no idea. My cousin lives in defense so I'm guessing somewhere near lahore defense.
|
|
|
Nov 19th, 2008, 09:34 PM
|
#16 (permalink)
|
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 11, 2008 - 7:50 pm
Location: California
Posts: 46
|
smuggled burberry bags.........r u serious? 
|
|
|
Nov 19th, 2008, 09:42 PM
|
#17 (permalink)
|
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 22, 2008 - 8:47 pm
Posts: 590
|
lol wow thats intresting
|
|
|
Nov 22nd, 2008, 09:57 AM
|
#18 (permalink)
|
|
Member
Join Date: Jun 15, 2008 - 5:01 pm
Location: Toronto
Posts: 388
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arysha
smuggled burberry bags.........r u serious? 
|
lol yea I couldnt believe it either but it's Pakistan we're talking about so these kinda things are possibe there and other asian countries like China and India haha this is what they use their brains for 
|
|
|
Nov 22nd, 2008, 10:26 AM
|
#19 (permalink)
|
|
Moderator Life & Relationships, Bazaar Forum
Join Date: Jul 6, 2004 - 7:35 pm
Location: in the kitchen
Posts: 32,752
|
maverick can you please ask her the name of the shop and where it may be located?
|
|
|
Nov 22nd, 2008, 02:03 PM
|
#20 (permalink)
|
|
Member
Join Date: Jun 15, 2008 - 5:01 pm
Location: Toronto
Posts: 388
|
Sure Sara I'll ask her and let you know
|
|
|
| Thread Tools |
|
|
| Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47 AM.
|
|
|