Results 1 to 5 of 5
- Jun 3rd, 2008, 11:23 AM #1
I just purchased a bottle of Omega 3 Fish Oil and later read that it contained "non-bovine gelatin". I can't seem to get a straight answer for the meaning of non-bovine. I read that bovine=cow....so that would mean that this gelatin is not from cow but I have read in other sites that it may include other animals as well.
can someone give me a straight answer as to what non-bovine means? thanks
Looks like I am going to have to return this bottle
- Jun 3rd, 2008, 11:49 AM #2
It is highly likely from sources other than a cow. Fish, porcine, chicken, horse, it could be any one of these. For anything halal, look for either a plant-gelatin or a vegetable-gelatin. My suggestion is give the bottle back and search in the same or a different store for either of the above gelatins. Keep your distance from fish-gelatin also, even though it might be labeled as "fish".
- Jun 3rd, 2008, 01:05 PM #3
That just means it is non-cow. It could be from pork or other animal. So yes, do return it. There are omega 3 supplements that are purely halal also. Check online.Don't be hurtin' and hatin' cuz my phone is so cool!
- Jun 3rd, 2008, 02:30 PM #4----
- Join Date
- Dec 19, 2004
that simply means it came from non-cow source..now taking out cow from the picture, one could imagine all kinds of animals being used for that omega 3...i'd also suggest u return it and look for plant or vegetable gelatin as dhobi bhai rightly suggested.Patta patta boota boota haal hamaara jaane hai
Jaane na jaane gul he na jaane, baagh to saara jaane hai
- Jun 5th, 2008, 01:51 PM #5
visitors found this page by using these recent terms: non bovine gelatin, non-bovine, non bovine, non bovine gelatin halal, non-bovine gelatin, what is non bovine, gelatin non bovine, nonbovine, gelatin (non-bovine), gelatin non bovine halal, what does non-bovine mean, what does non bovine mean, what is gelatin (non-bovine), what is non-bovine gelatin, gelatin (non-bovine) vs gelatin, non bovine-halal, what is gelatin non-bovine, does non bovine gelatin halal, gelatin (non-bovine) is halal or not, gelatine non bovine, bovine non-bovine, gΓ©latine bovine dans doppelherz omega 3, what is non bovine gelatin, can bovine gelatin be used as a preservative in fish oil, non bovine are halal