• Accomplished
  • Aggravated
  • Amused
  • Angry
  • Annoyed
  • Anxious
  • Apathetic
  • Artistic
  • Awake
  • Bitchy
  • Blah
  • Blank
  • Bored
  • Bouncy
  • Busy
  • Calm
  • Cheerful
  • Chipper
  • Cold
  • Complacent
  • Confused
  • Contemplative
  • Content
  • Cranky
  • Crappy
  • Crazy
  • Creative
  • Crushed
  • Curious
  • Cynical
  • Depressed
  • Determined
  • Devious
  • Dirty
  • Disappointed
  • Discontent
  • Disgusted
  • Distressed
  • Ditzy
  • Dorky
  • Drained
  • Drunk
  • Ecstatic
  • Embarrassed
  • Energetic
  • Enraged
  • Enthralled
  • Envious
  • Exanimate
  • Excited
  • Exhausted
  • Flirty
  • Frustrated
  • Full
  • Geeky
  • Giddy
  • Giggly
  • Gloomy
  • Good
  • Grateful
  • Groggy
  • Grumpy
  • Guilty
  • Happy
  • High
  • Hopeful
  • Horny
  • Hot
  • Hungry
  • Hyper
  • Impressed
  • Indescribable
  • Indifferent
  • Infuriated
  • Intimidated
  • Irate
  • Irritated
  • Jealous
  • Jubilant
  • Lazy
  • Lethargic
  • Listless
  • Lonely
  • Loved
  • Melancholy
  • Mellow
  • Mischievous
  • Moody
  • Morose
  • Naughty
  • Nauseated
  • Nerdy
  • Nervous
  • Nostalgic
  • Numb
  • Okay
  • Optimistic
  • Pakistan
  • Peaceful
  • Pensive
  • Pessimistic
  • Pissedoff
  • Pleased
  • Predatory
  • Productive
  • Quixotic
  • Recumbent
  • Refreshed
  • Rejected
  • Rejuvenated
  • Relaxed
  • Relieved
  • Restless
  • Rushed
  • Sad
  • Satisfied
  • Scared
  • Shocked
  • Sick
  • Silly
  • Sleepy
  • Sore
  • Stressed
  • Surprised
  • Sympathetic
  • Thankful
  • Thirsty
  • Thoughtful
  • Tired
  • Touched
  • Uncomfortable
  • Weird
  • Working
  • Worried
  • Results 1 to 13 of 13
    1. #1
      Senior Member
      ----
       


      Join Date
      Jul 10, 2002
      Posts
      8,521
      I have been asked by my relative, who was told by someone that Centrum is haraam due to gellatin content in it.

      I like to ask you guys if you have any knowledge of it. If it is halal or haraam. Please do share.

    2. #2
      Senior Member
      ----
       


      Join Date
      Mar 13, 2005
      Posts
      7,277
      Quote Originally Posted by smooth_guy
      I have been asked by my relative, who was told by someone that Centrum is haraam due to gellatin content in it.

      I like to ask you guys if you have any knowledge of it. If it is halal or haraam. Please do share.
      i was told the very same thing
      People put up walls not to keep people out but to see who cares enough to break them down

    3. #3
      ...
      ----
       

      Mr Fraudia's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 31, 1969
      Location
      Atlantis
      Posts
      36,899
      Blogs
      446
      http://www.centrum.ie/faq/questions.html

      from what i have read the gelatin is from animal source. if that is of a cause of concern to you try GNC's ultra mega, which is completely vegetarian from what they say

      http://www.drugstore.com/qxp45483_33...se_tablets.htm
      The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he did not exist. And like that... he is gone.

    4. #4
      Chakkar
      ----
       

      PyariCgudia's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 28, 2001
      Location
      A pigeon hole + Living Room
      Posts
      28,358
      Blogs
      2625
      I had no idea that its got gelatin in it. Whaddya know.
      I believe in dragons, good men, and other fantasy creatures.

    5. #5
      Senior Member
      ----
       


      Join Date
      Jul 10, 2002
      Posts
      8,521
      Thanks guys

    6. #6
      Senior Member
      ----
       


      Join Date
      Jan 22, 2001
      Location
      Virginia
      Posts
      1,200
      Actually, I used to use Centrum but was told by my doctor not to use it since it has gelatin. He recommended Garitol instead which is about the same thing, but without gelation.

      If there's a Rite Aid store around you, you can use its brand called "Central vite" which is also without gelatin.

      Don't argue with ignorants. They will first drag you down to their level and then beat you with their experience.

    7. #7
      Senior Member
      ----
       


      Join Date
      Jul 10, 2002
      Posts
      8,521
      Very very helpful PB and others. Thanks a million. Jazzaks!

    8. #8
      S02
      S02 is offline
      Channel Manager Lifestyle
      ----
       

      S02's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 16, 2003
      Posts
      19,432
      Blogs
      366
      I thought only the chewable version had gelatin.

    9. #9
      Senior Member
      ----
       

      mAd_ScIeNtIsT's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 5, 2001
      Location
      Body in Toronto, Canada; Heart in London, UK; Soul in Karachi, Pakistan
      Posts
      24,137
      I bought Shoppers Drug Mart's Life brand multivitamin instead after reading the ingredients. Seems gelatin free
      Muslims are so good at dividing that they can divide the atom. If you see two Muslims, probably they belong to 3 parties.
      Al-Ghazali

    10. #10
      Senior Member
      ----
       

      KashmiriRainDrops's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 14, 2005
      Posts
      1,466
      Yeah i was taking non-chewable Centrum for years until i realised recently it had gelatin in it...i'll look for the Garitol brand like someone mentioned...i started a thread about this in the Religion forum a few weeks back that u may find helpful...
      "One must be courageous enough to show displeasure in the presence of someone, and not in their absence."

    11. #11
      Senior Member
      ----
       


      Join Date
      Jun 30, 2005
      Posts
      632
      this is from the faq that someone posted. how do you know that rest of the stuff mentioned here like coating etc. in other tablets comes from vegetarian sources. by the time gelatin is actually used its processed and filtered a gazillion times.


      Is the Centrum suitable for vegetarians?
      No. The range does contain some ingredients of animal origin, therefore it is not vegetarian or Kosher. The ingredients of animal origin are:

      Magnesium Stearate
      Stearic acid
      Vitamin D
      Gelatin
      Tablet coating

      It is difficult to obtain such a comprehensive range of vitamins and minerals that are guaranteed to be completely vegetarian.

    12. #12
      Chakkar
      ----
       

      PyariCgudia's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 28, 2001
      Location
      A pigeon hole + Living Room
      Posts
      28,358
      Blogs
      2625
      Hain...so the vitamins also come directly from a pig?

      When you call these companies up, make sure to ask them if the animal source is a "pig". Some companies make it a point not to use pig-source. Remember, Jews and Muslims combined make up a significant population.


      By the way...

      http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg...91329?v=glance

      I'm looking up some things online and the stuff I see is unbelievable. There are even cereals and fruit juices that are haraam because they have vitamins that are derived from a pig source ... i.e. the pig was used to harvest the actual vitamins themselves.

      But then we go back to the same pig-derived insulin issue. Do muslim diabetics just go and die, because a pig was used to harvest genetically engineered insulin?
      Last edited by PyariCgudia; Oct 5th, 2005 at 09:51 AM.
      I believe in dragons, good men, and other fantasy creatures.

    13. #13
      Senior Member
      ----
       


      Join Date
      Jul 10, 2002
      Posts
      8,521
      ^ Do you have a pdf version of this book

    visitors found this page by using these recent terms: is centrum halal,  centrum gelatin,  is centrum halaal,  what kind of gelatin is in centrum vitamins,  is centrum suitable for vegetarians,  centrum without gelatin,  centrum halal or haram,  gelatin in centrum halal,  centrum silver halal,  centrum gelatin source,  does centrum have gelatin,  source of gelatin in centrum,  is centrum silver halal,  does centrum contain pork gelatin,  centrum gelatin free,  does centrum vitamins contain pork,  does centrum have gelatin in it,  does centrum contain gelatin,  what type of gelatin is in centrum,  gelatin free centrum,  centrum suitable for vegetarians,  centrum is halal,  centrum in pakistan,  centrum vitamins gelatin source,  gelatin in centrum vitamins